Hadoop’s 5 Daemons

At work the other day, I was reading about Hadoop’s 5 daemons. The information wasn’t quite clicking, so I drew a picture to cement the concepts into my mind. (I’ve checked that all information regarding Hadoop in this blogpost is publicly available.)

In words:
Hadoop is comprised of five separate daemons. Each of these daemon runs in its own JVM.
The following 3 Daemons run on Master nodes:

  • NameNode – This daemon stores and maintains the metadata for HDFS.
  • Secondary NameNode – Performs housekeeping functions for the NameNode.
  • JobTracker – Manages MapReduce jobs, distributes individual tasks to machines running the Task Tracker.

The following 2 Daemons run on Slave nodes:

  • DataNode – Stores actual HDFS data blocks.
  • TaskTracker – Responsible for instantiating and monitoring individual Map and Reduce tasks.

2 thoughts on “Hadoop’s 5 Daemons”

  1. Hi

    Do you know which process prepares the execution plan to fetch the data blocks from data nodes.


  2. At hadoop online training center we came to know about more other technologies like netezza, redshift, ETL and ELT with in depth insights. Similarly this website helped me a lot for the supplementary knowledge on those topics. Thanks for the info…

Comments are closed.